white2

It seems that for a knitter’s blog, there is very little crafting to be seen here.  I am so close to finishing the woolly pants, but need to find a little time this evening to get there …..

Today during the various tasks associated with caring for small babies and other household activities that distract me from my knitting, I was thinking alot about how my life and attitudes had changed since having children.  Not just the obvious big changes, but the smaller details.  Some (well, me in a self-critical frame of mind) might say standards have dropped, but I like to think that quality of life improves with a more flexible approach and not sweating the small stuff.

Some things I have learnt…

  • tracksuit pants are suitable attire for all occasions
  • that you can never have too many clothes-horses (I like this one)
  • that you can never have too many washing baskets (I like large Moroccan market baskets)
  • that it is normal to have opinions about the best type of clothes baskets and clothes-horses
  • that clothes baskets and clothes-horses are central items of home decoration
  • that colourful plastic toys and equipment add a certain je-ne-sais-quoi to any home decor
  • most of the words to all the songs featured on Yo Gabba Gabba
  • toddler attire is instantly more stylish and desirable if it sports a picture of Lightning McQueen
  • babies must have a strict routine, but unfortunately the babies don’t know this
  • a dust-buster is an essential accessory in a dining area
  • despite a culinary education honed in the finest restaurants and augmented by Vogue Entertaining, the most successful meals to serve a toddler are vegemite sandwiches or tinned baked beans.
  • teeth and hair are not pre-requisites for exceptional beauty
  • and that there is nothing nicer than a warm, velvety head (or two) against your cheek, or small arms reaching about your neck.

white

And if I fear criticism or disapproval about any lapses of style, I like to remember the wise words of Dr Seuss: 

“Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.”

