anzac

They may not look like much, but if my son is offered any other biscuit, he proclaims “but that’s not the bikkie that I love!”  Similarly there have been frequent requests to make the said “bikkies-that-I-love”.  They’re Anzac biscuits, made to my Mum’s recipe.  These have been firm favorites with kids in the family for forty years or more.

Pinry’s Mum’s Anzacs

  • 3/4 cup SR flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 4 oz (125g) butter
  • 1 tsp bicarb of soda
  • 1 tbsp golden syrup
  • 2 tbsp boiling water

Melt butter.  Add golden syrup, bicarb and boiling water and mix together. (Mixture should foam up a little) 

Add dry ingredients and combine well.  Mixture will be quite stiff. 

Put spoonfuls on to greased/lined baking tray and squash slightly.  (Sometimes these spread a little, but often not – not sure why). 

Bake in moderate oven for 10 minutes or until golden.  Let stand 10 minutes or so  before removing to cooling rack.

I usually get about two trayfuls and these don’t last long.

playdough

We also made some play-dough, using Maya’s recipe, in the colour du jour around here, golden yellow.  A fruitful sojourn in the kitchen for a certain bikkie-lover.

*bikkie
noun [C]
AUSTRALIAN ENGLISH INFORMAL FOR biscuit (FLAT CAKE)
(from Cambridge Advanced Learner’s Dictionary)
(I know that if anyone is reading this, they most likely know this, but it did amuse me that the word was in the Cambridge dictionary.  It’s also amusing that I looked it up)

