mushroom

The lovely Michelle has been posting vegetable recipes on Wednesdays, initially under the title “Veg Wednesday”, so I thought I would join in with the fun of sharing new (to us) meat-free meals that we come up with during the week.

We love Beef Stroganoff, but decided the nicest thing about it was the onion/mushroom/butter base, and that it would work well without the meat.

Mushroom Stroganoff with Confetti Rice

  • 1 onion
  • 10-20 mushrooms, depending on size (whatever looks like a good amount for a meal), sliced
  • 30g butter
  • dash of olive oil
  • nutmeg
  • 1 tsp grainy mustard
  • 2 tbsp sour cream
  • 1 tbsp paprika (or to taste)
  • salt and pepper

Melt half the butter in heavy pan (I use a saute pan) and add a drop of oil.  Fry onion for a minute or so until softened, then add mushrooms with a little more butter.  Fry mushroom, stirring frequently,  until soft and cooked through.

Grate over some nutmeg and season with salt and pepper.  Mix in mustard and paprika, then sour cream.  When combined, removed from heat and serve with rice.

Serves about 2-3

Confetti rice is one of my shortcuts (that I unvented* this week).   I used to just add in peas, but tried this when I was out of them, and it looks very pretty.  Just add small dice of carrot, chopped beans and corn kernels to cook with rice. 

rice

*apologies to Elizabeth Zimmermann

