knit 054

Perhaps there has been a bit too much Shrek-watching, but in any case, The Gingerbread Man has been a favorite story around here for a while, and today there was a great demand to make “a gingerbread man”.  As Rex doesn’t like ‘spicy’ baking I opted for this recipe which made for fun and easy preparation.  I used 125g butter, 1/4 cup sugar and 1 cup flour based on this formula.  It was very important that each man got two shiny buttons. Although, or perhaps because, this made for a very plain biscuit, these were pronounced a great success.  And of course a couple had to be eaten warm from the oven, before they ran away …

Picni collagePinik collage

Also home made was some facial scrub … I had run out a while back, and it looked unlikely that I could easily get in to town to buy more.  (Oh, well I suppose I could have gotten mail order…)  Then it occurred to me that I could make my own!  I made my own deodorant, so this should be even easier, I reasoned.  After some quick web-based research, I came up with this recipe based on the most appealing options and my deodorant experience.

  • 1/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup almond meal
  • 1/4 cup powdered milk 
  • tbsp dried rose petals (lavender would also be nice)
  • 1 tbsp corn flour
  • about 1 tbsp sweet almond oil
  • 2 vitamin E capsules (prick with knife-point and squeeze out oil)

Whizz dry ingredients in a food processor until as fine as possible, then blend in oil until a stiff clay-like consistency is reached.  Store in small tub.

To use, scoop out a pea-sized blob and mix with water in the palm of your hand.  Pat over face gently then rinse.  This makes a more abrasive cleanser than I’m used to, so I may lessen or omit the oats next time.  Generally I’m pretty happy with it, and pleased that it could be made from benign household ingredients.   If only I could make soap too …

white rose 2

In another triumph of thrift, the camera is again working!  Mr Foxy was going to take it to enquire about repairs, but was resigned to purchasing a new one.  Circumstances meant that we couldn’t get to the proper camera shop yesterday, but rather to an electrical chain store, where we feared spotty youths rather than camera aficionados would be employed.  But all power to spotty youths with initiative!  “Why don’t you try pulling on that bent bit?” – Mr Foxy did, and the camera worked!

 Now if only the keyboard on the PC was as easy to fix …

***In exciting baby news, after weeks of commando manoeuvres around the living area, both twins started properly crawling TODAY!  Commemorative photos should be posted soon …

