Inspired by Michelle’s Veg Wednesday posts …

rex party 074

This recipe, based loosely on an Australian Women’s Weekly one, is a regular around here, and a reasonably successful way of upping the vegie intake in the 4-year-old’s diet, especially when he gets to help make them.  I also like to make these to go with soup for lunch if we don’t have any bread on hand.

Savory Muffins

  • 1 small carrot
  • 1 small zucchini
  • kernals from half a cob of corn
  • 100g cheese (I use a mixture of tasty cheddar and parmesan)
  • 3/4 cup SR flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 cup cornflake crumbs* or rolled oats
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil (I use grape seed)
  • 1/2 cup milk

Grate carrot, zucchini and cheese into a large mixing bowl, add corn.  Mix through flour, then add all other ingredients and mix just until well combined.  Be careful not to over-mix.

Spoon into muffin tin (I get 12 large muffins) and bake at 180 deg. C until muffins are golden and bounce back  a bit when prodded.  (This takes about 10-15 minutes in my oven).  Allow to cool in tin a few minutes before turning out. 

(Despite the picture above, I usually use silicon muffin pans so I don’t grease them or use patty-pans, but you may need to with metal tins).

muffins

*The original recipe called for oats, which I used until one day I was out of them and tried the cornflake crumbs instead.  The muffins seemed to rise better and be tastier, so I use them all the time now.  I usually have cornflake crumbs in the cupboard as when I last looked, they more resembled  real food than normal packaged breadcrumbs.

