award collage

As a relative new-comer to the world of blogging, I am always pleasantly surprised when I receive visitors and comments, so it made my day to actually receive a blog award!  The lovely Josephine Tale Peddler has awarded me the Honest Scrap Award.  (And I have stolen her image concept for this post*)  As this virtual award is for bloggers who write from the heart, I am extremely touched and flattered, especially given that Josephine herself  is such a fascinating and accomplished (not to mention prize-winning) writer in real life as well as in the blogosphere.

In accepting this award, I must reveal ten true things about myself, and pass on the award to ten other blogs that I love.  So here goes:

  1. I always thought that I would never have children, so it comes as quite a surprise to me that I’m now a mother of three.
  2. Although born in Australia, I am actually 3/4 Scottish!
  3. I have an irrational dislike, ok phobia, of buttons.  I’ve never liked clothes with them, and the current popularity for button jewellery and embellishment gives me the shudders.
  4. My mother-in-law was a showgirl at the Tivoli Theatre in Melbourne in the 1940’s.
  5. I have had basically the same hairstyle for 25 years.
  6. Although I normally consider myself discerning about food, I prefer cheap supermarket sausages to gourmet ones.  (Preferably well done and in white bread with tomato sauce.)
  7. I used to be a near-gym-junkie, going to the gym at least three times a week, and loving the Les Mills classes.
  8. I have very poor eyesight in my right eye, but my combined eyesight is such that I don’t need glasses.  It always makes me wonder if I’m missing something …
  9. I passed HSC (year 12) Art with a series of hand-dyed macrame wall hangings incorporating woven sheep fleece.  Apparently my overall score would have been better if I had expanded on the soft-sculpture jellyfish theme instead of the macrame.  We live and learn.
  10. I am obsessed with the film Les Demoiselles de Rochefort by Jacques Demy.  I wanted to name my twins after the twins in the film, and only half got away with it.  (Demy’s wife, Agnes Varda is my favorite filmmaker (apart from Mr Foxy).)

And these are some of the blogs, apart from Josephine’s,  that I love to read at the moment and would  love to pass the award on to:

  1. Michelle Giacobello, a talented painter, crafter and mother who writes eloquently of art and life. 
  2. Bellsknits, fabulous knitter and writer always with an interesting story to tell.  I love how her tales of the knitting community elevates the craft of knitting, and she is theKnitting MacGyver!
  3. Suse at Pea Soup, she knits, she dyes yarn, she talks about the good stuff in life and takes great photos.  And I love her humour.
  4. Jelly Baby Blog, Jo’s projects are inspirational, and she writes from the heart of the practicalities, joys and challenges of parenting.
  5. Attic 24.  I love to lose myself in Lucy’s gorgeously colourful world, and her crochet is so inspiring.  And she most generously shares her designs.
  6. Jaboopee, Elaine is an awe-inspiring sculptor and glass artist with a collection of misfit toys always up to no good.  And she makes a mean granny square lampshade.
  7. Neulova Narttu, well to be honest I can’t claim that Soile writes from the heart as I don’t read Finnish, but her blog is certainly full of heart.  I love her eye for colour, her personal style and glimpses into her life in Finland.  Oh, did I mention that she knits and spins like a dream?
  8. Plum Pudding, Megan’s pretty blog always inspires with family-friendly crafts, recipes and activities, and she has a love of vintage goodies.  Her spaghetti-dogs have to be seen to be believed!
  9. Clementine’s shoes, Di is an architect, mother and knitter/crafter who manages to be down to earth and incredibly stylish at the same time.  Again, lots of knitty/crafty/home-making inspiration, links and tutorials.
  10. Assemblage, Knitting , sewing, cooking and parenting with style.  Kirsten is a talented and generous knitwear designer (in her spare time when she’s not running her own architecture business), and her blog is a calming visual delight.

Merci beaucoup Josephine!

*Oscar winners (L-R) Mercedes McCambridge (Supporting Actress), Broderick Crawford (Best Actor), Olivia de Havilland (Best Actress) and Dean Jagger (Best Supporting Actor) during 22nd annual Academy Awards at RKO Pantages theater.
Location: Hollywood, CA, US   Date taken: March 23, 1950   Photographer: Ed Clark, Life Magazine
