When I made a Shetland Triangle shawl for my aunt’s 80th birthday, I thought that I really should make one for her younger sister, my mother, too. 

Now Mum is an accomplished needle- and crafts-woman, who can make almost anything.  She can knit lace, but I don’t think she has knit it in a fine gauge, as a shawl.  And a fine lace shawl (that can be worn as a scarf)is something she wouldn’t knit for herself.  And if Marion has one, she should too!

A promised Christmas present became a birthday present, but finally it’s finished.  The knitting was fairly quick, such an addictive pattern, but this one hung around due to fear-of-blocking.  I was determined to use blocking wires this time, and eventually got around to buying some, but still I hesitated, also due to packing and moving.  Finally last weekend I took the plunge with flattened large packing boxes, towels and the new wires.  I think I still need a bit of practice, but the wires are definitely easier to deal with than pins alone.  And there is now a finished Shetland Triangle for Mum!

The yarn, again, is Bendigo Woollen Mills Luxury 4ply, this time in Iris Mist.  Purple is not a colour that I would normally choose for myself, but I did think a lavender/iris shade would suit Mum and when asked she also chose purple.  While I was knitting it there were a few flowers appearing in the garden of a similar hue, which made me appreciate this colour a bit more.

I’m still to knit one for myself, and perhaps I will return to this pattern, but there is another that has caught my eye.  What could be better this autumn and winter than to be wrapped in traditional, fine, knitted lace.  I hope Mum thinks so too.

