A quickly made, soft, lacy triangle made on impulse.  A lovely blogging friend was getting married, and was having a stressful time generally, so I really wanted to send her a small gift in celebration and support.  I’m not the first to remark on how funny, or rather wonderful, it is to feel that you are friends with people you have never met, but who you feel you know as friends through their on-line presence.  I feel that I share so many interests with Josephine, and that I have a sense of her personality through her eloquent writing.  I love than I am often surprised at, always interested in and often have cause to think further on what she writes about on her blog.  She comes across as highly intelligent, imaginative, warm and approachable, with an open inquiring mind and a touch of magic about her.  And charmingly off-beat, which I love and admire.  And she loves handcrafts …

I quickly decided on a shawlette/triangular scarf pattern that I’d been interested in trying, 198 yards of Heaven.  The yarn is Bendigo Woollen Mills Luxury 10ply in Lake.  This was such a quick and enjoyable knit!  The 10ply yarn and interesting yet intuitive lace pattern meant it grew quickly.  I think I may be addicted to knitting lace shawls …  My only downfall was that I used a version of the pattern that I printed out some time ago, and the pattern has since been updated.  In the older version the border doesn’t match up as well with the body.

I loved the way this looked straight off the needles, with its rumply garter stitch border, but blocking was required to make it large enough to wear.  The pattern instructs to block aggressively …

The result was surprisingly light and lacy despite the heavier weight wool, and a nice size for wrapping around the neck under a coat.  The large-scale of the lace pattern gives it a modern look, but it has a vintage style to it too. 

Modern, yet respecting tradition.  Practical, yet romantic.  A bit like Josephine!

