It’s now spring of course, but still chilly here, so this recently completed knit is getting lots of use – in fact more than I bargained on, but more of that later…

Last month when winter seemed unrelenting, the girls decided to grow out of all their winter knits.  I tried to knock out a couple of quick woollies that would warm them for the rest of this winter, yet still hopefully fit next year.  For the first of these knits, quick meant 12 ply wool and an easy nearly-seamless pattern that I was familiar with.  So I turned to my well-thumbed copy of The Knitter’s Almanac for the “baby sweater on two needles” (more popularly known as the February Baby Sweater).  Knit in trusty 12 ply Bendigo Woollen Mills Classic in Cherry from the stash, the baby garment was successfully up-sized to toddler size.  The lace pattern is quite open, but the weight of the wool still provides warmth.  I made no modifications, though I did consider tapering the sleeves, but decided that bell sleeves would be pretty.

As mentioned in the last post, I was finding it difficult to get out to purchase matching buttons, so raided the sewing box and found a vintage covered buttons kit.  I also remembered a cute fat quarter that I had received as a gift from Retro Mummy, and the print was the perfect size to create little critter buttons.  Once complete, the cardigan was quickly claimed by Mlle. C.

… Just a week ago we had an unfortunate incident involving a slamming door, little fingers and more hours than I’d care to remember at the Royal Childrens’ Hospital.  And my darling, brave Camille at least has a warm cardigan that fits over her cast.

