… and glorious today too, but I’m afraid there is some wintry knitting to catch up on.  Completed for the last wintry days (and I’m not convinced that we wont have a few more chilly ones yet) was quick-toddler-woollie number two.  Again my plan was to use some 12 ply wool from stash, so I did a Ravelry search for something that fitted the bill.  I came up with Waffles for Brunch, a handsome little pattern with lots of nice details and little finishing.

I again used Bendigo Woollen Mills Classic 12 ply, this time in Tuscan.  This isn’t a difficult pattern, but that didn’t stop me from failing to correctly follow the pattern. I forgot to continue the garter stripes in the upper fronts, but left it like that as I figured that a plain yoke balancing the garter placket worked ok design-wise. 

(Accessories model’s own)  I’m really pleased with how it turned out.  It has enough room to grow to do for next winter, and the ribbed pattern makes a very stretchy fabric that fits quite well now.  And the girls actually like wearing their new handknits!

And to finish up with the update of unseasonal knits, I also made myself a quick cowl in some lovely dark greyish handspun from The Handweavers and Spinners Guild of Victoria.  Pattern is Destroyed Cowl, an easy expanse of mindless stockingette stitch, with dropped stitches in the final row and kitchener stitch to make it into a seamless loop.  I have been finding this a useful piece, but tend to think that the pattern would be better with a thicker and loftier yarn (as intended).

