You are currently browsing the daily archive for May 30, 2011.

Blogging has been a bit thin on the ground here, and knitting not much better, but there are a few small projects I haven’t shared here yet.

I couldn’t resist making the Kelp Scarf, designed by the lovely Michelle. (Ravelry link).   An organic, sculptural piece that can be looped around the neck a few or several times to form a longer necklace or snug cowl, this was a great quick and simple project.  The yarn is Lincraft Splendour, and I used the entire 50g ball with just a couple of inches to spare – most satisfying.  Such a soft and squishy yarn.  I’m not normally a fan of variegated yarns for myself, but the long, gradually changing colour sections and rich tones of this yarn, almost Noro-like, are appealing to me.

Quite some time ago I managed to complete two little tops for the twinnies.  The pattern is the Girl’s cap-sleeved spring shirt by Shelly Floyd. (Ravelry Link).  I had downloaded this pattern ages ago, as I loved the idea of this being knit continuously in the round in one piece – no seams!  I was worried I’d get sick of the rounds and rounds of stockingette, but this wasn’t the case, and the pieces grew quickly.

They are knit in Bendigo Woollen Mills Cotton 8plyin Honeydew and New Ochre.  I was worried that I wouldn’t like knitting with this yarn, as it is quite unyielding and string-like at first glance.  Not tactile and bouncy like wool.  However I was won over and understood why so many other knitters rave about this yarn.  It did produce a surprisingly soft fabric and wasn’t hard on the hands at all.  As this yarn isn’t very lofty, I didn’t like to go up a needle size at the body section as the pattern instructs, so increased 12 stitches at this point.

I’m happy that these cool little tops will get wear next summer too, as I was, as always, generous with the sizing.

Then there was a new little baby girl in London who required some handmade knitwear.  I actually started this before I knew it was for a girl, hence the gender-neutral orange.  The pattern is the Easy Baby Cardigan by Diane Soucy (Ravelry link), knit in Bendigo Woollen Mills Classic 8ply in Pumpkin.  Such a great little basic pattern, and again seamless apart from the top of the hood.  The hood seemed to take forever, but once I got to the raglan increases, things seemed to move along quickly.  Easily completed from a lovely BWM 200g ball, with enough left over for an improvised crochet dress for my orange-loving girl’s own baby, who returned sans attire from a visit to creche.

Flickr Favorites

Pages

May 2011
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031